The Statesmen

by The Statesmen

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $7 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    CD version of The Statesmen featuring artwork by Joshua Marc Levy, ten CD quality songs and liner notes.

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Statesmen via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      $10 USD or more 


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 11 Jonah Smith releases available on Bandcamp and save 40%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Stay Close, Easy Prey, Skyscraper Blues, In The Kitchen, The Statesmen, Little Known Cure, Jonah Smith, Industry Rule, and 3 more. , and , .

      $50.40 USD or more (40% OFF)




Relix Magazine
July/August 2012: Issue 241

By Scott Bernstein

After a string of noteworthy solo releases, would singer/songwriter Jonah Smith be able to work well as a team player when paired with three highly regarded musicians? The Statesmens’s impressive self-titled debut album answers the question with a resounding, “yes.”

Consisting of Smith on keys and vocals, Scott Metzger (RANA, Bustle In Your Hedgerow) on guitar; Josh Dion (Josh Dion Band) on drums and vocals and Ben Rubin (David Ryan Harris, Erik Deutsch) on bass, the quartet put together a collection of ten rocking tracks brimming with soul. Smith and Dion provide the bulk of the vocals and their gritty voices give the songs an earthy bent that goes beyond typical rock radio fare. Standout tracks include “Another Brighter Day,” which sounds like a ’70′s Stones outtake sung by Sam & Dave and the guitar-driven romp “Esmeralda”, The Statesmen is a solid introduction to the ensemble’s high-energy, soul/rock hybrid sound.


released April 1, 2012

The Statesmen
1. Better Than You
2. Love Letter
3. No Hay Color
4. I Don’t Know The Man
5. Turning Outside
6. Another Brighter Day
7. Better Off
8. Home
9. Esmerelda
10. Headlong

Produced by Jonah Smith and The Statesmen
All songs written by Jonah Smith (Voluptuary Music, ASCAP) © 2011 Jonah Smith, all rights reserved
Except, “I Don’t Know The Man” written by Josh Dion, Jonah Smith and Cate Forfia (He Bad Music, ASCAP, Voluptuary Music, ASCAP) © Josh Dion and Jonah Smith, all rights reserved
And “Esmerelda”, written by Josh Dion (He Bad Music, ASCAP,) © Josh Dion, all rights reserved.
Jonah Smith – Vocals, Keyboards
Josh Dion – Vocals, Drums
Ben Rubin – Bass
Scott Metzger – Guitar

Bill Fuhs – Executive Producer
Recorded at Grand Street Recording by Tomek Miernowski
Mixed by D. James Goodwin at the Isokon
Mastered by Nathan James at The Vault Mastering
Artwork by Joshua Marc Levy © 2011, all rights reserved
Thank you to Bill Fuhs and Clint Tankersley
Very special thank you to Nestor Rivera, Jr. for inspiration and support
Thank you to everyone that helped make this record a reality including our families, friends and fans



all rights reserved


Jonah Smith Los Angeles, California


contact / help

Contact Jonah Smith

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code